What translation do you use and why?

I got a new Bible today. I think I need to give away a few of my old Bibles as I don’t use them very often anymore. With my iPhone always at hand, I have used online/downloaded copies of my favorite translations and not needing to lug a Bible along with me. Although it looks like I may start carrying m Bible with me again.

I started out with very little preference in Bible translations. I typically just used whatever was at hand. At Bible school, I began examining what versions made which claims as far as integrity and how close they were to “original” manuscripts. As a result, I began to favor the NASB (New American Standard Bible) version of the Bible. Lately though, I began to have a particular issue with even that translation. The issue was that the name of God is never used in it. Instead, they have replaced His name with one of His titles, “The Lord”. I asked one of my teachers from Bible School, who helped to start me down this path of inquiry, which translation of the Bible he recommended. He pointed me towards one I had never heard of. “The Scriptures” version of the Bible is written and printed by the Institute for Scripture Research, based in South Africa. They strive to come as close as possible to the Hebrew version of the scriptures, both old and new testament, to the point of leaving the name of God and the name of His Son in the original Hebrew lettering. So instead of “The Lord” and “Jesus”, they use  יהוה (Yahweh) and  יהושע (Yehoshua, which is sometimes shortened to Yeshua). It is going to take some getting used to, to read the Hebrew letters in among the english. In addition to this, they also use transliterations of the Hebrew names of most/all other places and people. So instead of Joshua they have Yehoshua and instead of Moses they have Mosheh, Isaiah becomes Yeshayahu and Deuteronomy is Debarim and the land of Canaan is the land of Kena’an. Some names I will just have to memorize what Anglicized name they go with as they bear little resemblance to the transliterated Hebrew.

So why the switch? Well, many men and deities are given the title Lord and a lot of deities are called god or God, but there is only one who is Yahweh and that is the God of Abraham. I want it clear, to myself and others, that the one I serve is not Allah or some other deity, but the one true God, Yahweh, and His Son, Yehoshua.

So what translation of the Bible do you use? And why do you use it?

3 Responses to “What translation do you use and why?”

  1. LaDonna Says:

    Wow, Kirk. I’ve found that I really enjoy the Recovery Version. I only have a new testament that I got for free. I’m not thrilled with the NIV and the KJV is hard to read. I just bought the two oldest girls a KJV for Christmas.

  2. Jean-Paul Says:

    That translation sounds cool. I will look it up. I also like your reason for choosing a translation. it is so personal. Most spew religious dogma about how accurate theirs is and your going to hell if you use a different one. I love to say that I use the same one Abraham used.

  3. annesyme Says:

    I’ve just discovered your blog and was very interested in the question. I started of with the NIV, then moved on to the New King James which I love and use when I want to study. I also have David Sterns Complete Jewish Bible and a copy of the Jerusalem Bible. I love to find out the meaning of the names of everyone in the bible. I love to speak the name of my God Yahweh, it may not be how He Himself would pronounce it but it’s as near as we can get I think. I love the name of my saviour, Yeshua. It is such a shame the church has lost this very rich part of our biblical heritage.. of now to read more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

